District Council of Barunga West
Port Broughton Bute and Districts
District Council of Barunga West
Community Information
Contact Us
Weather, Fire and Tides
Welcome to Barunga West

Welcome to Barunga West


"A welcoming, supportive, growing community with a sustainable lifestyle and environment."

This is the vision that the community of the District Council of Barunga West are very proud to communicate and aspire to.

The District Council of Barunga West is located in the northern parts of Yorke Peninsula. The geographical area is 1590.4 km2, with a population of 2,456.

The major townships in the area are Port Broughton, Bute and Fisherman’s Bay, along with settlement areas of Alford, Kulpara, Melton, Mundoora and Tickera.

As a Council we are committed to ensuring that our residents and our visitors have a range of facilities and services available to them.

We are very proud of what our region has to offer and the strong sense of community felt throughout the district.

We hope you find our new website helpful and user friendly.

If there are ways that you think this website can be improved, please speak to one of your Elected Members or email us at barunga@barungawest.sa.gov.au


To see a detailed map of Pt Broughton please click below

Pt Broughton Map(506 kb) 

Latest News


13 April 2018
This notice is to advise the following Temporary Road Closures That Council exercises its powers pursuant to Section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 and Clause F of the Instrument of General Approval of the Minister dated 22 August 2013 to: Pursuant to Section 33(1) of the Road Traffic Act 1961, declare that the event described below (“the roads”) is an event to which Section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 applies; and Pursuant to Section 33(1)(a) of the Road Traffic Act 1961, make an order directing that The Roads on which the Event are to be held and any adjacent or joining roads specified below, be closed to traffic: Port Broughton West Terrace (from James Street to Edmund Street) and Bay Street (from McKay Street to West Terrace) and McKay Street (from James Street to Bay Street) between the hours of 6.00am to 12.00 noon on Wednesday 25th April 2018 for the purpose of ANZAC Day Dawn Service. Bute High Street (from Railway Terrace to Third Street) Railway Terrace (from Second Street to First Street) and Third Street (from Second Street to First Street) in Bute between the hours of 6.30am to 11.00am on Wednesday 25th April 2018.


3 April 2018
ANZAC events scheduled within DCBW: Port Broughton 6.30am: Dawn Service at foreshore War Memorial 7.30am: Breakfast at RSL (Gold Coin Donation) 11.00am: Combined service at Town Hall followed by ANZAC March and lunch at RSL 4.00pm: Two-up at RSL Alford 7.00am: Dawn Service at War Memorial followed by breakfast Bute 6.30am: Dawn Service at War Memorial 7.30am: Breakfast 8.45am: ANZAC March Tickera 8am: Service followed by breakfast at the War Memorial

Annual Tree Allocation

3 April 2018
The Annual Tree Allocation will be available on the following dates: BUTE DEPOT Wednesday, 16th May 2018 Between the times of 8am and 12pm. PORT BROUGHTON DEPOT Thursday, 17th May 2018 Between the times of 8am and 12pm. The District Council of Barunga West provide free of charge: 3 native trees or shrubs to residential property owners or 5 trees or shrubs to rural property owners. If you would like to take up this offer, you need to register your name at either the Bute or Port Broughton Council Office. Bute Office: (08) 8826 2011 Port Broughton Office: (08) 8635 2107

Community Transport Forum - May 1st Port Broughton

27 March 2018

FREE Social Media lessons for Seniors

27 March 2018
Main Office
11 Bay Street
Port Broughton SA 5522
Sub Office
Railway Terrace
Bute SA 5560
Postal Address
PO Box 3
Port Broughton SA 5522
Contact Council
Phone: 08 8635 2107
Fax:      08 8635 2596
Top of Page